AEC Update - Branch Elections Delayed Due to Covid-19 have been called

Updated 5 months ago

CPSU, the Community and Public Sector Union SPSF Group Victorian Branch
ELECTION NOTICE - E2020/12 - Stage 1
Scheduled Election
Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice President (2)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following electorates:

  • Electorate 1 Health And Community Services (4)
  • Electorate 2 Resources (2)
  • Electorate 3 Education (2)
  • Electorate 4 Justice (9)
  • Electorate 5 Central Agencies (5)
  • Electorate 6 Barwon/South Western Region (4)
  • Electorate 7 North Western Region (2)
  • Electorate 8 Gippsland Region (2)
  • Electorate 9 North Eastern Region (2)

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 23/11/2020.
Additional forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below not later than 12:00pm noon Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 07/12/2020.

A nomination form is available for electronic completion on the AEC Portal, However, the nomination form must then be lodged in accordance with the Organisation's rules (see below).

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method(s):
By Portal: Australian Electoral Commission Portal,
By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to

Withdrawing Nominations
Nominations cannot be withdrawn after 12:00pm noon Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 07/12/2020.

Candidate Statements
As per Branch rule 14.5 “In any election required by these rules candidates shall be entitled to provide a statement of not more than 250 words and a photograph of the candidate for inclusion with ballot material. Such statements and photographs must be submitted to the Returning Officer no later than the close of business on the day 7 days after the close of nominations.” Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 12:00pm noon (Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT)) on 14/12/2020 can be accepted.

Voting Period
The ballot, if required, will open on 01/02/2021 and close at 10:00am Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 22/02/2021.

A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

Other Information
Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.
Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Noopur Madan
Returning Officer
Telephone: 02 9375 6321

arrow-up icon