Victoria's new permit system for all domestic travel into the state

Updated 2 years ago

From 5:59pm on Monday 11 January 2021:

  • Victoria will establish a new permit system for all domestic travel into the state to support Victoria’s rapid contact tracing efforts and give greater certainty when travelling.
  • The permit system will be based on a traffic light system that allows Victoria to designate regions in other parts of Australia as green, orange or red, depending on the coronavirus (COVID-19) risk in a particular area.
  • Zones will be declared by the Chief Health Officer, based on the public health risk for coronavirus (COVID-19) transmission. Certain restrictions will apply for travellers from that area.
  • Current permits – including transit and worker permits – will remain valid, so long as they are consistent with public health’s advice on zones.
  • Under the new system, travellers will need to apply for a permit to enter Victoria from anywhere in Australia, except border communities in NSW where locals will require proof of their home address.
  • The type of permit will depend on where people have been, with applicants required to provide details on where they are coming from and where they are traveling to. These details will allow the contact tracing team to rapidly reach people should a new risk emerge.
  • As part of the permit application, travellers will also be asked whether they have any coronavirus (COVID-19) symptoms, whether they have been diagnosed with coronavirus (COVID-19) or are a close contact of someone who has and whether they have visited particular exposure sites. Providing misleading information is an offence, punishable with a fine of up to $1,652.
Traffic light system – permit zone overview

Understanding the red zone:

  • A red zone means if you have visited this area in the past 14 days you will not be allowed to enter Victoria without an exception or exemption. You will be turned away if you try to enter Victoria at a land border.
  • Returned Victorian travellers arriving by plane or by water without a valid reason or exemption will be required to self-isolate at home for 14 days and will receive a fine of $4,957.
  • Interstate residents presenting at an airport or seaport without a valid reason or exemption will be fined $4,957 and returned to their destination on the next available flight. If this requires an overnight stay, these individuals will need to stay in hotel quarantine until their departure.

Understanding the orange zone:

  • An orange zone means you will be able to apply for a permit and will need to take a coronavirus (COVID-19) test within 72 hours after arriving in Victoria, isolating both before and after your test, until you receive a negative result.

Understanding the green zone:

  • A green zone means you will be able to apply for a permit and enter Victoria. Once in Victoria, you should watch for symptoms and get tested if you feel unwell.

Under the new system, and based on the latest advice of the public health experts, regional NSW, including the Central Coast will be reclassified as an orange zone. That means local residents, as well as Victorians holidaying in these areas, will be able to enter Victoria if they isolate upon their arrival, get tested and stay home until they receive a negative test result.

Exceptions and exemptions will continue to apply. Details of the Victorian Travel Permit System are outlined on the Coronavirus website.

arrow-up icon